Truth is Free

July 10, 2010 § Leave a comment

I am angry, disconnected from my real life
in favor of an internalnet one.

I, now, you – we are at odds.
Life is always a gamble
and we lost this hand,
but that’s okay.
“Better luck next time,”
they always say.

The difference is you are eager to quit,
and me? I can’t wait to see
which hand I will be dealt next.
Win or lose,
I’ll make the most of it.
As long as I’m playing
I’m having fun.

Sure, we’re down and out right now,
but if we don’t stick around
and wait it out,
all chances of hitting the jackpot
are called off.
“You can’t win if you don’t play,”
they always say.

My heart is open,
I give and receive love fully and freely –
I love, and I am love.

I still get angry,
I still get sad, and even depressed.
Self-pity is an easy drug to come by.

The wind sings when it rides the waves,
we should all be so brave.

I’ve told a lot of lies in my day,
and maybe the biggest one –
the one I cling to the most
to shape my persona
and give my ego that firm sense
of entitlement and smugness –
is the lie that I have no regrets.
(I see now that regrets have their place,
as they teach a healthy sense of remorse.)
It is true that I don’t have many regrets,
but a few skeletons lurk back here…

Once upon a time I shared a locker
with a human skeleton,
and I still remember how it feels
to have those ribs
pressed into my back.
I couldn’t move,
but I wasn’t afraid:
I accepted the lack of space
and the darkness.

I jumped off a thirty foot high cliff
into a lake
and I have a scar on my right leg
to remember it.
Life is the best tattoo artist of them all.

I birthed a baby boy
naturally
with no medication.
I labored for two days,
I pushed for three hours,
I worked harder than ever before in my life
to give somebody else
a life all their own.

These are some of my truths.
I have more, many more,
to recall for empowering
jolts of encouragement
that I do have a path
and a purpose on this planet
and damn it! I can do whatever the hell I please,
so fuck you if you dare to tell me otherwise.
(Yes, I’m talking to you,
oh Lizard Brain.
Get out of my way, now!)

So, back to the lies
on the flip-side,
well, what can I say?
What do I regret?

I suppose, not doing more.

I am capable.
I am strong.
I am compelled.
I am stunning.

Go for the delicious,
give everything and everybody
one-hundred-motherfucking-percent.

If you don’t do it,
who else will?

We must, we must, we must
increase our trust
in ourselves and our big dreams
and our one singular mission
we were meant to achieve.

Believe, breathe, and be.
That is the key.
Truth is free.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Truth is Free at quimbalicious.

meta

