Fight or Flight?

May 10, 2004 § Leave a comment

So much to live up to,
But I always let me down.
“Stop breathing,” they tell me, “it’s all a lie.”
They just want to see me drown.
My mind flits like a butterfly,
Reality stings like a bee.
I hopped two fences, then another,
Scaled the nearest tree.
My head’s so high up in the clouds;
My feet have but memories
Of standing on the ground.
From this perch I see the world spinning,
Screaming loudly as she can.
Humanity wanders aimlessly, grinning,
Turning a blind eye to her pain.
Late nights, loser parties, the lunatic’s plight;
The inner workings of a weakling:
Shall I fight or just take flight?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Fight or Flight? at quimbalicious.

meta

